School Council

All government schools in Victoria have a legally formed School Council. The Council has powers to set the key directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. A School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Who is on the School Council?
There are three categories of membership:

Parent Category – More than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Training (DET) employees can be Parent members at their child’s school as long as they are not employed at the school.

DET Employee Category – Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of school council. The principal of the school is automatically one of these members.

Community Member Category – Community members may be co-opted to the council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DET employees are not eligible to be Community members.

The term of office for all members is two years. Half the members must retire each year, creating vacancies for the annual school council elections.


Ms Gael Evans

Ms Bec Hamilton

Executive Officer
Ms Patricia Broom – Principal

Parent Members
Ms Kimberley Taylor
Ms Kat Beaton

Student Council Reps
Miss Lexi Bussell

Community Members
Ms Lia Mitchell
Mr Owen Christesen

DET Employee Members
Mr Luke Wakefield

Minute Secretary
Ms Liz Wilkinson

There are a number of sub-committees of the School Council which have a specific brief. They include:

  • Education Committee (Curriculum)
  • Building & Grounds Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Uniform Committee
  • Canteen Committee
  • Learning Technology Committee (IT)
  • Raising the Profile Committee
  • Parents & Friends Club